Don’t be a slave of your phone


phoneI have a 12 year old Beagle who even at this age loves to go for walks. In fact, it is because of her that I manage to fight off my laziness every morning and evening especially during weekends and go out for a short walk. It doesn’t matter whether it is raining or cold or sunny, every day somehow I manage to take her out. I liked going for walks even before I had my pet, but always had a hard time maintaining consistency. I would easily give up due to rain or other factors.

When I take my dog for walks, I never take my cell phone with me. I am not one of those who are glued to the cell phones all the time but I do feel tempted occasionally to check the news or other social sites when I have free time. Not taking my phone along during walks lets me focus on my dog, observe her how she loves sniffing through every single object she finds on the way, how she loves to pee even when she doesn’t need to go and how much she enjoys rolling on the grass. I love this one on one time with her and I think to some extent my dog looks forward to it as well.

The other day when I took her to the park, I noticed almost every other parent who got their kids to the park was busy on the phone. There was one near the swing whose kid was playing on the swing but the dad never really enjoyed that moment and was busy looking at the phone; and there were few others by the slide and the play area. Looking at that picture from far away made me very sad. I wondered why is it hard for people to give up their phone just for a few minutes and enjoy the moment with their kids or loved ones. When I can do it for my dog, don’t you think they should be able to do it for their kid?

I understand no one does these things intentionally and may be they were doing something important and I don’t blame them but all I want them to know is that sometimes it is important to enjoy the moment; do the things that you are meant to do. If you are playing with your child, give your 100% to it. If you want to play a video game, allocate a specific time and give it your 100%. Don’t try to mix and match, you’ll only end up wasting time and missing out on important memories. Also, don’t let devices control you, it should be the other way round. That is how it was built and that is how it should be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

