What do you dread the most?


fearSometimes I wonder what is it that I dread the most? Is it the fear of doing something or its consequences? I have a huge fear of public speaking, all my life. I get comfortable with time as I get more familiar with my audience but until that point I am really nervous.

As I analyze my fear I try to find out what exactly it is that’s making me uncomfortable. And surprisingly its not the fear of standing at the podium and speaking – I have done that many times. Its the fear people’s reaction – will they like it, will they ask questions, will they make fun?

A few years ago I went skydiving with my friends. That was one hell of a experience for all of us and by far the scariest thing I have ever done in my life. When I signed up for it I wasn’t a bit nervous. As we boarded the plane, I still wasn’t. But once they opened the doors and it was time for us to jump – my friends got nervous, some started screaming, some didn’t want to jump. I was still not nervous, something within me kept saying you can do this, millions of people do it, you won’t die.

As I got ready, I watched my friend who went before me jump out and disappearing in the clouds in just a second or two. That moment, my heart stopped. By then I was kneeling down on the door getting ready for my jump and there was no looking back. My instructor counted 1,2 and 3 (actually I never heard the 3) and we were out and I felt like I was in heaven.

Oftentimes we give up without even trying. Like for example at work, lot of us don’t like things at work but we don’t do anything about it. We are too scared to talk to anyone about it or do something to change it. We are afraid of the consequences. You would never know what the consequence is if you never tried.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

