Connecting with lost friends


Connecting with lost friendsDo you know someone whom you were close friends with long time ago but have no clue about them now? As bad as it sounds, I have quite a handful of people whom I used to be friends with but not in touch anymore.

From the age of 4 to 7 I had a friend, we were so good friends but somehow we parted ways when I was in 3rd grade. From 8 to 12 I had two other friends. We were best buddies; we went to school together, did our homework together and so on. Then we parted ways too.

I then had 3 other friends from age 13 to 17. Fortunately we never parted ways but after high school, we all went to different college in different cities, and internet was just starting to grow, so we weren’t able to stay in touch as much as we thought we would. All three of them got married; I couldn’t attend it because I was busy with my job. Now after many years I am in touch with 2 of them via Face book.

From 18 to 21 when I was in college, I had another friend, this one was very close. We were like best buddies in college. But after college was over and we started working, we lost touch and I have no clue where she is now.

And the list goes on. I hear similar stories from few of my current friends and colleagues, most of whom have lost touch with their childhood friends too while at the same time I hear some who are very much in contact with their childhood friends.

At every phase of our life, we meet lots of people. We bond with some of them and sometimes share great memories with them. But after few days or years we move away for school, work or other commitments. And in our busy life we fail to stay connected, partially because we didn’t have the means to do it  – like people in the 90’s did not own cell phone or email and partially because we did not anticipate that we would forget them forever.

Now with the growing popularity of social media, it has been easier to stay in touch, to find long lost friends. Although I have been able to find some, there are many who are yet to be found. Sometimes I wonder, do they still remember me, do they think about me the same way that I do? I guess I will never know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

