My love for watches


watchAs a child, some kids like jewelry, some like Barbie, some like cars and some like bikes. But I liked watches. So much that I had one for every color of clothing I owned and I wore it all day long, even when I went to bed or took a shower. That was my love for watches.

Needless to say, my parents noticed it quiet early in my life. They got me a bunch of waterproof watches so I don’t spoil the good ones by wearing them while in shower. They also bought a dozen or more of fancy but reasonably priced watches – like a use and throw type so that I can use it as I wish but at the same time not put a hole in their pocket.

As I grew the passion reduced a little but still continued to stay with me. I no longer wore them to shower or while sleeping or when I am at home but I do wear it every day when I go out. I still wear it on my right hand just like I did when I was a little kid. I still have a dozen watches with different styles and colors. I like to match it with my wardrobe. I do have some very nice ones with gems and precious stones and some which are very casual.

Why the entire craze about watch?

I am not sure how I picked the habit but I do know what it taught me in the long run.

1. It helps me be on track.

2. I am never tardy – I am almost never late to wherever I have to be. It taught me to value time.

3. It helps me plan my day well – I am a compulsive planner and having a watch helps me in planning well.

4. It complements my personality – I cannot imagine being the type of girl wearing bangles or bracelets. Watch supports my personality well.

5. My life stops when the watch stops running – Sometimes when I forget to wear the watch or when I have a dead battery on my watch, life literally stops for me. It is then that I feel how much I rely on it. Of course all of us have cell phones now which can be used for checking the time as well but the feeling of having that band on my wrist will never be fulfilled with a cell phone.

With that being said, I think there are some obsessions that are good, some that are bad, some temporary and some permanent. This is one of those that has been with me forever and helped me grow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

