Make someone smile


A few weeks ago on my way back from work, I stopped at the traffic signal waiting for it to turn green. It was a long day for me and I was very tired. I leaned on the window of my car with my hand supporting my head. Suddenly a guy from the car in the next lane rolled his window down and asked me what’s wrong.

I woke up from my deep thoughts. I was kind of shocked by his question. Never in my life before has any stranger asked me that in a traffic signal. Anyway, I replied back to him saying – nothing’s wrong to which he replied – then smile, enjoy life. I smiled and he and his friends cheered up, by then the signal turned green and we moved ahead.

I liked the gesture. We see so many sad faces around us every day; we never bother to ask them what’s wrong. Either because we think that it is inappropriate or because we feel like we won’t have a solution to their problems. Sometime just asking them what’s wrong can cheer them up. Sometimes all that someone wants is a little care – knowing that someone cares for you can make a big difference.

People do not need answers or solutions to their problems. Because if they wanted – they would have asked for it directly rather than waiting for you to figure that out and come to you.

When I was a kid, I often suffered from cold and cough. Once when my dad came to visit me in my hostel, he gave me a cough drop – with the name Smile on it. One day while I was looking for something in my drawer I stumbled upon this cough drop. It instantly cheered me up. I never consumed that cough drop and had it with me during my entire college life. Whenever I used to feel sad about something, I used to look at it and feel better.

It is easy to bring a smile on someone’s face, try it; it isn’t as hard as it seems to be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

