My list of fears/phobias


Somebody asked me the other day what are my fears and it got me thinking for a while. I am basically fearless. I was brought up to be independent and not to be afraid of anything. And since I have been travelling and living alone a lot, life gave me an opportunity to face a lot of tough situations and be fearless.

So to answer my friend’s question, I looked up a list of phobias. Thankfully there is a website for it.  I must say the person did a good job in putting together the list of phobias in one place. After going over the list, I came up with the phobias that are applicable to me. Here are they:

1. Fear of gaining weight: Also known as Obesophobia or Pocrescophobia

A lot of people in my family are fat. I was a lean person as a child but I did gain a lot of weight when I was about 10. I feared the worst and ever since started controlling my weight. It’s been 18yrs since and the thought of gaining weight still scares me a lot.

2. Fear of heat: Also known as Thermophobia or Phengophobia

This is probably because I have sensitive skin. I cannot handle sun or sunlight, period.

3. Fear of God: Also known as Zeusophobia or Theophobia

I am a religious person, I guess that explains it.

4. Fear of being stared at: Also known as Ophthalmophobia

This is probably because I am an introvert. I do not like attention and I hate when people look at me specially when I am walking. It makes me awkwardly conscious.

5. Fear of public speaking and stage fright: Also known as Glossophobia or Topophobia

Similar to the above point, this is also because I am an introvert. Although I have done quite a bit of public speaking but it is still one of my greatest fears.

6. Fear of crowds: Also known as Enochlophobia

On similar lines, I like being alone and the thought of going to crowded places turns me off.

7. Fear of hearing good news: Also known as Euphobia

This is probably because somewhere down in my mind I have a feeling that I don’t get things easily in my life which makes me believe that if I hear some good news then something bad is coming soon. Although it doesn’t happen like that all the time but I still fear it.

8. Fear of being imperfect: Also known as Atelophobia

This is because I am a Virgo/Libra cusp who is known to be perfectionist. I have this never lasting urge of being the perfect person and keeping everything perfect and doing everything right.

What is your list of phobias?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

