Do not make others achievements as your goal


We often look at others and think why I can’t be like them. Even if they are wrong, we admire them and try to make our goals based on their achievements.

When I was young, all my cousins had majored in economics and accounting and I automatically assumed I should do that too because I looked up to them as my mentors. But it was only until I was 15 that somebody made me realize that it is okay to take something else and I ended up taking engineering. I do not regret that decision.

As you grow up, a lot of people think that joining a 9 to 5 job is the best thing. I do not disagree but that is not the only option. Having a stable job is great but you can be a free-lancer and still do well. You could even be an entrepreneur; you can do things staying at home too. As long as you are happy and are able to self-support yourself.

Further ahead, getting married and having kids is implied as important and those who do not do that by their late 20’s or early 30’s are considered odd. The same goes on as you grow old. I am sure even people as old as 60 or 70 would be complaining about something or the other too.

It is okay to not follow the crowd. It is okay to have different ambitions. Always remember there are things that you can do what others can’t so being judged based on what others can do is equally inefficient.

It depends on what you set the bar as. There will always be someone who will try to judge you based on their metrics but you do not have to worry about such people. What matters is how you judge yourself. Define your own goals and measure your achievements on the basis of your ambitions. That does not mean that you set the bar too low. Try everything in your life but pursue what you really have heart for.

When I was young I hardly had any interest in sports. I was always into books, I still am. But along with books I love sports now. I am trying to learn everything that I like now – Basketball, swimming, ice-stating. Goals change with time, likings and ambitions changes with time. So if you find yourself not liking something now that you liked before – then don’t worry. Do what your heart says and put your best into it. Feeling happy and satisfied is more important. Achieving fame and money comes later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do not make others achievements as your goal

  1. balabhaskar6 says:

    Reblogged this on balabhaska and commented:
    Be yourself

Leave a Reply

