Understanding an introvert


Lone Tree Cypress

We are surrounded by both kinds of people extrovert and introvert; however majority of it consists of extrovert. There has been a lot of debate about the percentage of extrovert and introverts in the society but it is approximately set to 25% introverts to 75% extroverts.

So who exactly are introverts? Introverts are people who gain energy by being alone. They love quiet conversations, don’t enjoy small talk and probably have to be dragged to parties. Whereas extroverts get their energy by being around people.

While the introvert understands the extroverts well probably because they are more intelligent, more reflective, more independent, more level-headed, more refined, and more sensitive than extroverts, it is very difficult for an extrovert to understand an introvert. This also leads to introverts being perceived as arrogant. Although they are not but their inability to do small talk gives an impression of being arrogant.

Not all introverts are shy, although some might be. Some of them also suffer from some forms of selective mutism. They tend to think before talking, whereas extroverts tend to think by talking, which is why their meetings never last on time.

Most people believe in the rules made mostly by extroverts. They feel that the way to lead a life is the one defined by extroverts. I had a friend asking me why I live alone. He says he can never live alone – he cannot imagine his life being without people around. Well that’s an extrovert for you. Introverts on the other hand don’t find it awkward to live alone or do things alone.

A lot of my friends ask me to accompany them when they go shopping and I do it because I know they are extroverts and need company. But when I go shopping with them, I return back home empty not buying anything while my friend will have loads of bags with goods that she just shopped. It doesn’t mean that I don’t like shopping, I love shopping as much as her but I like shopping alone. I don’t like people giving their opinion on what I buy and from where I buy.

Introverts should not be treated as a disease. It is not a choice or a lifestyle that someone chooses, it is an orientation. Secondly when an introvert needs to be alone or is lost in thought, do not push them to talk to you or come out instead don’t say anything and leave them alone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Understanding an introvert

  1. Pingback: Is being an introvert considered rude? | CastleDale

Leave a Reply

