Guys gossip more than women


My apologies to all my male readers today. I don’t intend to be a feminist or gender biased here but men do gossip a lot, as much as women or may be a little more. Women are generally tagged as gossipers for obvious reasons but a few years back I read this article about a research done which states that men gossip a lot more than women and I couldn’t agree enough.

At first I was a little shocked when I read about it and I wanted a proof to believe it. To do this, I started observing the behavior of men around me, mostly my colleagues and occasionally my friends and family. The results were amazing – they gossiped all the time. The more I noticed the more I found them to be gossiping. They want to know what is going on in other’s life; they even spend a lot of time discussing other’s life.

There is this guy at work who spends a lot of time discussing about promotion and appraisal and how to impress the boss while there is another guy who needs to be the first one to know about the office politics. Then there is this third person who cribs about other colleague’s work, his boss etc. He even goes to the extent of making hush conversations with the manager and discusses about them. I often find men engaging in long conversation in hushed tones discussing about office politics or gossiping about someone at work.

So what makes them different than women? Well women do it out loud and men are a little discreet about it. They call it networking. While women gossip a lot with friends and family at home, men tend to do it at work with colleagues. Men gossip about politics, promotion, their boss or other colleagues or about girls while women do it more about their personal life and other’s personal life.

Gossiping is not a bad trait after all. It is kind of a social skill and if done just for pleasure and for a limited time is good and turns out to be entertaining. However gossip turning into spreading rumor or gossiping about false information is bad as well as dangerous.

Although gender does not really have much to do about who gossips. It is the individual’s personality trait that determines whether they gossip or not. However it is definitely a myth that women gossip more.

p.s: I was inspired to write this blog today because I found two men near my office gossiping for almost an hour and I couldn’t help noticing it. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guys gossip more than women

  1. Anonymous says:

    huuu what an interesting blog i like it

  2. Anonymous says:

    fact!

Leave a Reply

