Four Seasons


Why is it that in summer people long for cold weather and when there is winter people long for hot weather? When it doesn’t rain people pray for rain and when it rains you wait for it to dry. The answer is simple. Humans are never satisfied with what they have. The grass is always greener on the other side.

Spring is my favorite part of the year. It’s neither too cold, nor too hot and it’s beautiful. Come spring and we are surrounded by flowers all over the place. Good news to everyone who like flowers and enjoy nature in general, a little bad news to those who have pollen allergies. From Spring Festivals to Cherry Blossoms to Wildflowers, everybody suddenly seems to get out and start enjoying the nature.

I am allergic to sunlight, so I don’t prefer going out in the daytime any time of the year except for maybe when it’s cloudy. Needless to say I stay indoors during summer at least during the day time which makes people think that I don’t like summers. I genuinely don’t like winter. I can’t tolerate cold weather which now makes people around me think that I worry about weather a lot. They feel like I don’t like winter or summer or rain. There is a long story for rain which I will share in another post.

My friends call me the weather girl, which is correct to some extent. I check the weather daily sometimes more than once. I not only check the weather for the particular day but also the hourly variation throughout the day and then the forecast for the next 10 days. Sometimes I also check the average temperature for the month.

Most of the people reading this might now think that I am obsessed with weather which I probably am to some extent. But honestly, the real reason for me being obsessed with weather is two reasons – 1) Because of my sun allergy, I need to see how the temperature is the next day so I can dress appropriately 2) I really like the granularity of data that they provide about the weather. It’s really amazing to analyze those data and come up with the predictions.

Here is an interesting thing. People often confuse sunlight to heat. I can tolerate any amount of warmth (heat) but I cannot tolerate sunlight and the reason I stay indoors is to prevent sunlight. Some may argue that sun provides warmth which is technically correct but sun is there in winter too and it doesn’t provide warmth then. Here is why.

Sun is not the primary reason for warmth. There are other factors associated with it that determines the different seasons. The Earth’s seasons are not caused by the differences in the distance from the Sun throughout the year (these differences are extremely small). The seasons are the result of the tilt of the Earth’s axis.

The Earth’s axis is tilted from perpendicular to the plane of the ecliptic by 23.45°. This tilting is what gives us the four seasons of the year – spring, summer, autumn (fall) and winter. Since the axis is tilted, different parts of the globe are oriented towards the Sun at different times of the year.

There is not much we can do to control the season, you like it or not, you still need to pass through all the 4 seasons every year. The best thing to do is to enjoy each season as it comes and look forward to the next one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

